John Salvi

"The Artist as Polyphemus," "Leaving Her," "Mephisto," "Redementia," and "Shantung"

John Salvi is a student of his surroundings. He learns in the classroom at the Art Students League of New York, he learns from the renovations occurring in his home in Monmouth Beach, and he learns through the imperfections he encounters everyday.

Salvi is a painter, printmaker, and photographer who began his career as a science teacher. After retiring, he became a student of the arts and began taking classes.

“I had a very traditional teaching career and all of the things that go with that. I feel so privileged to be able to be part of what’s happening with art today,” he says.

Salvi spent his first year at the Art Students League of New York taking life-drawing classes. Next, he moved into painting and printmaking.

At first, Salvi worked with large paintings and brushes. He tried to achieve a sense of motion with his work.

“It’s almost as if [my pieces] are passing by, they’re moving through space,” he says.

Salvi remembers a time when a man walked by a piece he was working on in the Art Students League. The man said he was afraid it would “rip his arm off.” While the reaction might seem unordinary, it was exactly the response Salvi was hoping for.

“I’m often pleased when people see something like a particular form or shape,” he says. “But, I’m more pleased when they really see the power, when their response shows they’ve picked up the energy that the painting has,”

Salvi describes himself as a colorist. His paintings are abstract and he is inspired by the blemishes and oddities he encounters

“I like things that are a little out of kilter,” he says. “Sometimes it’s with color, sometimes it’s putting images next to each other that are a bit unexpected.”

Right now, Salvi is working on a series called “Playing in the Dark,” which consists of digital photos of light that is bent and stretched into different directions.

Despite his developed style, though, Salvi still considers himself an “emerging artist.”

“I say that because I still have beginner’s mind,” he says. “I don’t feel this is something where you are suddenly just accomplished.”

As he continues to grow as an artist, Salvi remains inspired by his experiences.

“I feel like I’ve kind of metamorphosed into this art life,” he says. “I’m pretty delighted I can have this privilege this late in my life.”

John Salvi can be reached by email at johnsalvi@msn.com or by phone at (908) 433-4203. His work can be viewed online at johnsalvi.net . John Salvi is also featured on the MCAC’s Artist Registry.

5 responses to “John Salvi

  1. John’s work is as colorful and interesting as his personality. Having the privilege of knowing him, I perceive each of his pieces as some sort of self portrait – all being unique & inviting.

  2. I agree, John’s work is always a tracing of the journey of the heart. What he observes in himself, be it exhiliaration or pain, he expresses on canvas and film. I’m lucky enough to own two of his paintings, reminders that when the artist does this – keep it alive within himself – we get to experience that beauty.

  3. Playful, experimental, and well crafted, John’s work is always a delight. As
    delightful as John himself.

  4. Marilyn Pote Hutton

    I’ve been blessed to know and love John since our college days. He himself was—even then—and still is a fine work in progress. Praise God his artistic creations have continued to flourish throughout his life in ways only John’s precious and gifted talent can express.

  5. AUDREY SCULTHORPE

    I’M LUCKY ENOUGH TO KNOW JOHN WELL….HIS PERSONALITY DOES INDEED INFLUNCE HIS WORKS OF ART…..I’M FORTUNATE ENOUGH TO HAVE A STANDING PIECE OF HIS WORK, THAT I CHERISH…..

Leave a comment